[Interview] ‘She Was Pretty’ Park Seo Joon, “Dating rumours with Hwang Jung Eum? I think its good”… ‘Chemistry God’ ①

Q: Thoughts about ‘She Was Pretty’ ending.
Park Seo Joon: It is the first drama on a free-to-air channel where I am acting as the lead, but fortunately it seems to have ended perfectly. At the start I felt a lot of pressure, but I feel really fortunate that it ended well. I learnt a lot from this project in which I starred as the lead.

Unexpectedly, I received a lot of attention and love so it feels very strange to me, but at the same time I feel very thankful. In order to live up to the attention and love I am receiving now, I will feel a little burdened to come up with a good project.

Q: Will you rest after it ends? If there is something you want to do now, what will you do?
Park Seo Joon: There is nothing much for me to do now, after resting I attended the drama wrap party and drank a lot. *laughs* I rested the next day too. Because my body clock has become used to sleeping very little, so even when I want to sleep, because of my body clock I wake up naturally.

What I want to do? Now I don’t really know. Now it seems like I need to go looking (for something to do), again.

Q: Starring as the lead, what are some things you learned specifically?
Park Seo Joon: The site conditions is one aspect. In the past, I always come and go but now I stay at one place from the start till the end. Anyway, I also feel that actors starring (in a drama) should create the on-site atmosphere, I often feel this and learn in this aspect. In terms of acting, from the beginning to end I felt the power to continue being driven, not to be discouraged and to continue acting well.

Q: What was your biggest worry, acting as the character Ji Sung Joon?
Park Seo Joon: I wondered about how to act out my character in order to express him in a three-dimensional manner. This seems to be the same for every project. How can I express the character in greater detail, was something I worried about. When expressing the character, how to express those parts that have been omitted from the script, things like these.

While I think about those omitted parts, I also think about how the specifics will turn out and I often worry about this a lot. Because the first half of the drama is like that so it is difficult, in the beginning the character’s personality that is shown is limited so if I don’t grasp it well, the power that I started with will have to last all the way to the end. I worried about those parts a lot too.

Q: You mentioned that you used your imagination to complete those omitted parts, in that case which parts were as such?
Park Seo Joon: How I actually lived like in New York is not something that can be shown on television. The scenario of how I lived in childhood before migrating to the United States was reflected, but the scenarios after immigration don’t appear very often. What exactly did the character experience during this period, things like this.

The scenarios with poison tongue are also like that, because this person is a vicious person originally, a bad guy, so I thought about whether there is a reason for him to have a poison tongue. Because he will get laid off for being unable to save the magazine publication company in 3 months, he may give up halfway. Even if there is a choice, because I feel that this is not the character’s original personality, so in the scenes where he is vicious and shouts, it is a bit awkward and I wanted to express those parts.

Q: There are many comments about a unique ending. Are you worried about the ending?
Park Seo Joon: With regards to the ending, I didn’t hear about an alternate version, though of course I did think about a finale with no happy ending. But because it is not a thriller with plot twists, so I think it will have a happy ending, because I feel that way.

In the ending, unexpectedly there was be a child, this was not something I expected. Indeed, after looking at her appearance with make up, I thought she was really cute. When filming, I did so happily because I anticipated such an ending, so like the reactions from waiting for the broadcast, I was also curious about that part. Because until that part I didn’t check the monitor.

Q: What is the most memorable scene that Park Seo Joon will choose?
Park Seo Joon: I think it is the ending of Episode 5. It was the first time I suffered from trauma, in the middle of the road and reuniting with Hye Jin. Episode 8 is also good. No matter what, the characters I take on seem to have vast/rich emotions. Such scenes will often be chosen as memorable scenes.

Q: Your chemistry with Hwang Jung Eum, how did it develop? There were even rumours of you dating.
Park Seo Joon: I think it happened because we are close. Or maybe because we worked together twice in a short period of time. If we worked together again after a few years maybe it would not be the same, so it’s probably because we worked together twice in this year. After hearing such rumours, I might as well think on the bright side. In order to complete the drama, isn’t chemistry very important?

Q: After acting in ‘She Was Pretty’ your popularity increased, what are your thoughts?
Park Seo Joon: (During that time) I felt tremendous popularity, I’ve never experienced this before. On the day of the wrap party, I did Guerilla Date, that was the first time I felt it. Compared to what I imagined, many people understand me and know that I exist. I see many reports and comments online, but it still doesn’t feel real. After I did Guerilla Date, I really had that feeling.

Q: In the beginning, the ratings were low. Did you feel worried about it?
Park Seo Joon: I thought it would hit 7%, but it was only 4.8%. It was lower than I expected, after watching the first episode, I thought the ratings would be higher (in the future). Only when you catch hold of the center, will the ratings be able to rise. Not everything can be seen in the edited version, but I still focused on filming. Actually after watching the broadcast, I thought it was pretty good. I also had such hopes. So I don’t think the ratings will do too badly.

Q: A unique ratings promise, how will you do it?
Park Seo Joon: Among actors, there are some people who don’t do this. With regards to such promises, I don’t really have much ideas. But not something like drinking kimchi soup. If I said it and can’t go near, it will be embarrassing. During the press conference, we were asked about promises so I made this impromptu promise. I’ve never thought about this type of promises before. Actually, in the situation I was asked to provide a response as to what I would do, so I thought a pictorial shoot based on the background of a magazine publication company was very meaningful. I thought that it would be unusual and fresh to do it. Unexpectedly, the ratings really hit the mark and I fulfilled my promise, but originally this was not a promise I made with the thought of fulfilling (it in future).

Q: Is there any genre you would like to try in future?
Park Seo Joon: I would like to try something I have not done before. In that case compared to other things, I cannot forget what I do in my 20s. Youth is like running water. Now I would like to focus on the things that I can do. When I am in my 30s, the roles that I can take on when I am at that age will probably come later.

Source: Topstarnews

Leave a comment